Sunday, April 24, 2011

Prestige Marketing, Inc (Canoga Park, CA)

Prestige Marketing Inc, located in the Los Angeles area, appears be an affiliate of Smart Circle International.  Prestige's website states "The client base for Prestige is currently with the home improvement industry and its retail venues." Research the employment advertiser before committing time and money (transportation costs) to an interview. Beware of employment advertisements which appear "too good to be true". You will be paid minimum wage or commission, whichever is higher, for getting customers inside of Home Depot stores to agree to a free in-home consultation for kitchen remodeling. Of course, you would be paid the commission only if the customer actually signs up and pays for kitchen remodeling.

***
http://prestigemarketinginc.net
5535 Balboa Blvd #110
Encino, CA 91316
(310) 755-3106

Old Address
7334 Topanga Canyon Blvd Suite 220
Canoga Park, CA 91303
(818) 961-5583
careers@prestigemarketinginc.net

Domain Name: PRESTIGEMARKETINGINC.NET
Creaton Date: 07-May-2010

13 comments:

  1. I had a job interview today for the job they gave me a call back and i have a 2nd interview for tomrw .... It seemed legit but what is this all about is it a scam please help

    ReplyDelete
  2. Now they're located on 15335 Morrison Street Sute 306 Sherman Oaks 91403

    818-907-9504

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. 15335 Morrison St #306, Sherman Oaks, CA is the address of the infamous LA Sports Marketing, a Smart Circle affiliate known for recruiting management trainees to sell discount retail coupons.

      http://www.ripoffreport.com/door-to-door-sales/la-sports-marketing/la-sports-marketing-prestige-m-7ff0b.htm

      (Excerpt. Go to the Ripoffreport) to read the whole report.
      My first red flag should have been the waiver I signed saying that I would not get paid for the day but I looked passed it. They make you dress in a suit and tie and 5 of us packed in a van and we were dropped off in the middle of west hollywood with a bunch of quiznos coupuns and told to sell to people on the street and random business's. I felt so stupid walking into these business's one I wasnt getting paid, I couldn't go home because a van dropped me off and people just love when you go into their business's and try to sell them something.

      Delete
  3. how come this is a scam job? explain pls :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. On Craigslist, right now, this company is offering this job saying that all you need to have is "Above average" people skills, however, in other places like indeedjobs.com. CareerBuilder asks for "some" college. Now, their website asks for college. Still, they say that it's a "customer service" and pay by the hour job. They never let you know that you need to use your own car, get your referrals, otherwise, you're out the door....

    ReplyDelete
  5. I "worked" for them for three 1 hour "training days" and three in-store training days. I have not received ANY compensation. It was a complete waste of my time and money and GAS!
    I suggest other unsatisfied "workers" spread the word because they are not honest and upfront about what they are doing.

    ReplyDelete
  6. (If this is a double post feel free to delete, I can never type those captcha things correctly...)

    They are a scam. I "worked" for them for 3 "guaranteed pay" 1hr training days and 3 in-store training days. They never told me how many leads I would need and never gave me an hour sheet so I could claim my hours worked.

    Anyone else upset with this company needs to spread the word so other naive, ignorant or DESPERATE people do not fall for the same mistake I did.

    I lost time, and time is money, as well as gas. Completely not worth it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Please elaborate. You said you "worked" for Prestige Marketing for three "guaranteed" 1-hour training days. Did you spend one hour inside Home Dept on three different days trying to sign up leads and did you "work" for three days at eight hours per day during your training days? If you were hired as an employee and not an independent contractor, Prestige Marketing is required by California state law to pay you minimum way unless you earn total commissions higher than minimum wage depending on PM's compensation contract with you.

      Did Prestige Marketing pay you any money for the time that you "worked" there? Were you an employee or an independent contractor. If you were an independent contractor then PM is not required to you anything except for commissions according to their compensation agreement.

      Delete
  7. Is this really a scam because I know someone who works there and is very happy?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Brain washed to be happy. They have moved from Morrison Street in Sherman Oaks to 5535 Balboa Blvd., Encino, CA 91316

      Delete
  8. This does seem to be a scam. I'm not sure what the scam is, but something is not right about this company.

    1. For one, their web presence is too small for a company that specializes in marketing.

    They have a "corporate" website, but not a company website that talks about their services to potential clients. It doesn't make sense in this day and age. Their Facebook is nothing but inspirational quotes and pictures of employees with no actual information on the company or the companies they are representing, which is a disservice to them and their valued clients. Keeping in mind that these are supposed to be marketing professionals, this is a waste of their time unless the point is to soley attract potential employees.If that didn't seem to be their only motivation, that wouldn't be a problem.

    2. Also, their domain name is a .net domain name. It is hard to believe that a US marketing company would create a domain name that does not end in .com. It takes only basic understanding of the internet market to know why.

    3. Lastly, this seems to be a recycled scam. I just put the name into Google and got results that related to different scams under the same umbrella company as Prestige Marketing Inc.

    I was conviced that this was not a job worth look at was when I looked up the domain name (godaddy) and looked at the WhoIs. The website is registered to ACE 4 Graphics. That is not too alarming, especially if they contracted the maintenace of their website to another company. No big deal, or so I thought until I searched ACE 4 Graphics on Google and the very first hit was someone asking about a completely unrelated company two years ago, but whose company was registered to ACE 4 Graphics with the same informaiton listed as Pretige Marketing Inc. ACE 4 Graphics was revealed to not exist in it's listed location, and the company that had its domain name registered under it was indeed a scam.

    So I would be very cautious with applying to this company. Beware of their Entry level positions (They say that they only hire within the company, but they have job listings for upper level positions). And good luck with your job search my fellow job seekers.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Its a scam, think about it. Train you to be a marketing rep? Do you know how hard it is to get a real marketing job, entry level or not. They wanted to interview me and I told them I have a B.S in Computer Science. The lady went silent for a minute then just said, "Ok the hiring manager will discuss your qualifications with you". UH yeah right, unless all the marketing majors and pros out there all died suddenly maybe I can see a company scrambling for anyone with a degree. Karena makes really good points that seals the deal. Their website is dogshit.....

    ReplyDelete
  10. I received 2 emails about prestige retail marketing company in crystal lake illinois, an im they r wanting me to call so we can set up an interview, im just wanting to know is this is a scam?

    ReplyDelete